1. Help Library
  2. 1-on-1s
  3. Administrator Functions

1-on-1 Cycle Management

IN THIS ARTICLE:

  • 1-on-1 Cycle Basics
  • How to Create a 1-on-1 Cycle
  • Advanced Options of 1-on-1 Cycles
  • Edit a 1-on-1 Cycle
  • How to Delete a 1-on-1 Cycle
  • Add People to a 1-on-1 Cycle
  • Exclude People from a 1-on-1 Cycle
  • Remove People from a 1-on-1 Cycle
  • 1-on-1 Cycle Alerts

1-on-1 Cycle Basics

A 1-on-1 Cycle allows you to automate scheduled 1-on-1s for your managers and employees. When you set up a cycle, you pick the milestones for each step of the process. Employees and managers are then prompted to complete their 1-on-1 based on those milestones.

Administrators have the ability to add, remove, and edit cycles. Keep reading to understand how.

How to Create a 1-on-1 Cycle

Single Cycle Creation

Go to Administration > 1-on-1sNew Cycle. Update the following settings:

  • General Settings: enter the cycle name, select single cycle type and provide any additional information about this cycle (this is optional). Check "Include in Emails' and your description will be included in the automated emails that are sent out to employees.
  • Add Participants: select the users that will participate in this cycle. Select all users, filter by manager or even by attribute. Select a template for this cycle and hit the Add People button. When all the users have been added, click the All Done button. 
  • Notifications & Milestones: Select the cycle launch date and proceeding milestones. 

Launch the cycle or click I'm not ready to keep the cycle as a draft.

Automated Cycle Creation

Go to Administration > 1-on-1s > Click New Cycle. Update the following settings:

  • General Settings: enter the cycle name, select automated cycle type and provide any additional information about this cycle (this is optional). Check "Include in Emails' and your description will be included in the automated emails that are sent out to employees.
  • Notifications & Milestones: select whether the launch should automate off Hire Date, Exit Date, or a Recurring date. Adjust notification dates and lock date. 
  • Add Participants: this is automated and no action is needed. You can add additional participants manually after the cycle is launched.
  • Launch the cycle: to launch, select Enable Automation Now, then Yes, Enable Automation. Notice you can schedule the cycle to launch at a later date.

After you launch an automated cycle, you can continue to add employees by clicking the edit button next to the cycle you would like to change. Expand the Participants section and select Add New Participants to select or search for the users you would like to add to the cycle. You must also select a template before clicking Add People.

Note: Your list of employees can be narrowed and searched by name or other attributes we've loaded into the system for you (i.e. Department).

Advanced Options of 1-on-1 Cycles

Employees must share their self-assessment before being able to see the managers' feedback: By default this is checked. You may uncheck this if you would like to enable to employees to see their manager's feedback before providing their own.

Managers must share their feedback before being able to see the employee's self-assessment: By default this is checked. You may uncheck this if you would like to enable to managers to see their employee's answers before providing their feedback.

Allows users to 'Unshare and Edit' after sharing their answers: By default, if a user shares their portion of the 1-on-1, they cannot go back and edit their responses. This allows users to go in and edit even after they've shared their answers.

Managers must 'Submit for Approval' before sharing: This allows you, as an administrator, to review a manager's feedback before the employee sees it. This could be helpful if you want to help your managers on how to word their responses.

  • As an admin, you will receive a notification that there is a 1-on-1 pending approval. You can select the link to the 1-on-1 to review and approve, which will notify the employee that the facilitator has shared. Or you can send it back to the facilitator. 

  • If you choose to send the 1-on-1 back to the facilitator, you will have the option to add any notes before sending. NOTE: The employee will not see any of this activity. They will only be notified that the facilitator shared once it is approved by you, the admin.

Edit a 1-on-1 Cycle

Go to Administration > 1-on-1s > Click Edit to the cycle you would like to update. Be sure to select Save Changes when your finished making your updates.

How to Delete a 1-on-1 Cycle

Go to  Administration (drop down by your name in top-right corner) > 1-on-1s.

If a cycle has no participants in it, you can delete the cycle. If a cycle does have participants in it, you will need to edit the cycle to remove participants before you can delete it. 

Add People to a 1-on-1 Cycle

Go to  Administration (drop down by your name in top-right corner) > 1-on-1s > Click Edit on the Cycle you want to add people to.

Click Add New Participantsselect the employees you want to add, select a template, hit Add People/Person and select All Done.

Exclude People from a 1-on-1 Cycle

You can exclude certain groups of people from 1-on-1 Cycles if you need to.

When you're adding participants to a cycle, start by selecting all users -- including the employees you will be excluding. Then search for those groups you want to exclude, and press clear. Finally, clear your filters and add the remaining employees.

Remove People from a 1-on-1 Cycle

You can remove any employee(s) from a cycle that has already launched by 

Use the Search & Filter button to find the employee you'd like to remove from the cycle. Click the drop down arrow next to the employee you want to remove and click Delete.

1-on-1 Cycle Alerts

When you set up or edit a 1-on-1, you may see an alert next to participants' names.

A red alert indicates the facilitator of the 1-on-1 for that employee does not exist or is an inactive user.

You can click the drop down arrow to add a facilitator.

A blue alert indicates the facilitator is not the employee's manager. 

You do not need to take action, but you can click the drop down arrow to change the facilitator to anyone or to their manager.