1. Help Library
  2. 1-on-1s
  3. Administrator Functions

How to Change the Facilitator of a 1-on-1

Admins can update the facilitator (e.g. the manager) of any 1-on-1 that isn't finalized. If an employee has already shared their 1-on-1 with the previous facilitator, they will need to re-share their responses with the new facilitator.



In this Article:
Overview
Visibility into Responses
How to Change the Facilitator from within a 1-on-1 (Original Layout)
How to Change the Facilitator from within a 1-on-1 (Refreshed Layout)
How to Change the Facilitator from the Cycle Setup

Overview

You may need to update the facilitator of a 1-on-1 if the manager that an employee reports to changes during a 1-on-1s cycle or if it was out of date when the 1-on-1 cycle originally launched. 

Admins can change the facilitator of any open 1-on-1 to a new facilitator, and  the current facilitator of a 1-on-1 can update the 1-on-1 to remove themselves and add someone else as the facilitator. 


Admins can change the facilitator of a 1-on-1 from within the particular 1-on-1 OR via the Participants section from the 1-on-1 Cycle Setup. Facilitators can remove themselves as the facilitator from within the 1-on-1. 

Visibility into Responses

When the facilitator of a 1-on-1 is updated any responses that either the employee or the old facilitator has worked on so far will be saved. The employee will need to share their responses with the new facilitator in order for the facilitator to see those responses, even if the employee already shared their responses with the former facilitator. The new facilitator will be able to view any saved responses by the former facilitator, regardless of whether they shared their responses to the 1-on-1 yet. 

How to Change the Facilitator from within a 1-on-1 (Original Layout)

From within a 1-on-1, locate the drop down menu in the top right corner and select Change Facilitator. 

Next, remove the facilitator by clicking the X by their name. 


Then, type in the name of the new facilitator for the 1-on-1, select their name, and click Change

When you click Change, the new facilitator will receive an email and bell alert notifying them that they have been added as the facilitator to this 1-on-1. When they open the 1-on-1, they will be able to view any responses left by the former facilitator in brackets, even if that facilitator did not share their responses with the employee. 

The new facilitator will not automatically see responses left by the employee. Even if the employee shared their responses to this 1-on-1 with the old facilitator, they will need to return to the 1-on-1 and share their responses with the new facilitator in order for the facilitator to view their responses.

How to Change the Facilitator from within a 1-on-1 (Refreshed Layout)

From within a 1-on-1, click on the Actions drop down menu in the top right corner and select Change Facilitator. 

Next, remove the facilitator by clicking the X by their name in the field that appears. 

Next, type in the name of the new facilitator for the 1-on-1 and click Change

 

When you click Change, the new facilitator will receive an email and bell alert notifying them that they have been added as the facilitator to this 1-on-1. When they open the 1-on-1, they will be able to view any responses left by the former facilitator in brackets, even if that facilitator did not share their responses with the employee. 

The new facilitator will not automatically see responses left by the employee. Even if the employee shared their responses to this 1-on-1 with the old facilitator, they will need to return to the 1-on-1 and share their responses with the new facilitator in order for the facilitator to view their responses.

How to Change the Facilitator from the Cycle Setup

Admins can change the facilitator of a 1-on-1 from the Participants section within the Cycle Setup.

Check the box associated with the 1-on-1 that needs to be updated. Then, select Change Facilitator. From the drop down that appears, you will have the option to Assign to current manager (if the person listed as the facilitator is not the employee's current manager) or Assign to specific person.

If you select Assign to a specific person, the following window will appear. Type in the name of the new facilitator and click Change to update. 

The new facilitator will receive an email notification and bell alert notifying them that they have been assigned as the facilitator to this 1-on-1.