You can require that managers submit their responses for approval as part of a cycle in order to allow Admins and upline to review responses before the employee sees them.In this article:
- How to Set Up 1-on-1 Cycles for Approval
- How to Review Facilitators' Responses
- How Facilitators Re-Submit Their Responses
- How to Approve all 1-on-1s Submitted for Approval
When setting up a 1-on-1 cycle, you can require that managers submit their 1-on-1 responses for approval before the responses are shared with the 1-on-1 partner.
This option allows for additional oversight into important and sensitive 1-on-1 conversations, i.e. performance reviews, etc.
If you specify that managers must submit their 1-on-1 responses for approval for a given cycle, both parties of the 1-on-1 will submit their 1-on-1 responses for approval, instead of sharing their responses with their employees.
Admin users and, if applicable, users upline of the facilitator, will review the submitted responses and decide if the responses should be shared with the employee or sent back to the facilitator with suggestions for edits.
By default, once a manager's 1-on-1 responses are approved, they will become visible to the employee. Contact your CSM if you would prefer not to have approved responses become automatically visible to the employee.
How to Set Up 1-on-1 Cycles for Approval
When you set up your 1-on-1 cycle, specify that facilitators should submit their 1-on-1 responses for approval as part of your cycle settings.
To set up a 1-on-1 cycle for approval:
- Navigate to the cycle's setup page
- Under Share Settings, check the box for, Facilitators must 'Submit for Approval' before sharing
- By default, administrators approve responses and comments in 1-on-1s
- This opens additional options:
- Optionally, enable/disable upline managers to also be able to approve 1-on-1 responses and comments
- Optionally, enable/disable the requirement for facilitators to share, after approval, in order to for the employees to see the facilitator's responses
- Click Save and Continue
With this setting enabled, when 1-on-1 participants in this cycle complete their responses, they will see Submit for Approval in place of the Share button since approval is required before the responses are shared with the employee.
When a facilitator submits for approval, the following confirmation modal appears:
How To Review Facilitators' Responses
As an admin or an upline manager with the ability to approve 1-on-1 responses, you will see the following banners when a 1-on-1 is pending your approval.
Use the Only 1-on-1s Pending Approval filter to quickly view 1-on-1s requiring your approval.
To review a facilitator's responses:
- Navigate to the 1-on-1s home page
- Click on the 1-on-1 requiring approval
- Review the responses and decide whether to approve or send the 1-on-1 back for editing
- Approve: Approve the responses; employees can view the facilitator's response at this time
- Send Back to [Employee]: Send a 1-on-1 back with information and context for how the facilitator can adjust their responses before resubmitting
If enabled by your CSM, once a facilitator's responses are approved, they can decide when to share their responses.
How Facilitators Re-Submit Their Responses
When an admin user, or an upline manager if specified, sends a facilitator's responses back with suggestions for edits, the facilitator receives an email notification.
This email notification will detail the 1-on-1 cycle and the recommendations from the admin or upline manager.
When the facilitator reopens the 1-on-1, they can edit their responses and click Submit for Approval to submit their updated responses.
How to Approve All 1-on-1s Submitted for Approval
Admins, and permitted upline managers, have the option to approval all 1-on-1s pending approval.
To bulk-approve pending 1-on-1s:
- From the 1-on-1s home page, enable the Only 1-on-1s Pending Approval filter
- Click and expand the Bulk Actions drop-down menu
- Click Approval All Pending
- In the modal, confirm your selection