In this article:
- Your 1-on-1 is Now Open
- User-initiated: Someone has started a 1-on-1 with you
- Reminder to Share your 1-on-1
- 1-on-1 has been shared with you
- 1-on-1 has been unshared with you
- Your responses were approved
- Your responses were not approved
- Reminder to finalize your 1-on-1
- Someone has finalized your 1-on-1
- Someone has nudged you to complete your 1-on-1
- 1-on-1 status has been changed
- Visibility into a 1-on-1 has been shared with you
Email notifications are not customizable, with the exception of any text you add to the About this Cycle section of your cycle setup page. If you add text to the About this Cycle section and check the box specifying that it should be included in emails when you create a 1-on-1 cycle, that text will get pulled into the body of the emails about that 1-on-1 cycle. The below examples only display the text that is automatically included in every email.
Your 1-on-1 is Now Open
Both employees and managers receive an email notification when their 1-on-1 is open (available to fill out). If the 1-on-1 is part of a cycle, it will include the title of the cycle:
The email notification sent to managers includes every direct-report 1-on-1 they're expected to complete as part of this 1-on-1 cycle:
User-Initiated 1-on-1s: Someone has Started a 1-on-1 with you
Similarly, if your organization has enabled user-initiated 1-on-1s, users will be notified via email when someone starts a 1-on-1 with them.
Reminder to Share your 1-on-1
As the deadline to share the 1-on-1 approaches, users who have not yet completed their 1-on-1 will receive an email notification reminding them to share their 1-on-1.
1-on-1 has been Shared with you
Managers and employees both receive an email notification when the person they are having a 1-on-1 with shares their responses, unless you have specified that managers submit their 1-on-1s for approval to Admins/ their upline, in which case employees will NOT receive an email when their facilitator shares the 1-on-1.
"Shared" email notifications apply to both 1-on-1 cycles and user-initiated 1-on-1s.
1-on-1 has been Unshared with You
If users have the ability to unshare and edit their responses once they have shared (as determined by the Share Settings in cycle set up), then the other participant in a 1-on-1 will receive an email when the person they are meeting with has unshared their responses to edit them.
Your 1-on-1 Responses were Approved
If you are a manager participating in a 1-on-1 cycle in which you are required to submit your responses for approval, you will receive an email when the responses that you submitted for approval for a particular employee responses have been approved. This email will let you know who approved your responses.
Your 1-on-1 Responses were not Approved
If you are a manager participating in a 1-on-1 cycle in which you are required to submit your responses for approval and your responses were not approved (were sent back to you with edits requested), you will receive an email who disapproved your 1-on-1 and any feedback/requested edits that they have shared with you:
Reminder to Finalize your 1-on-1
Both employees and managers will receive an email notification reminding them to finalize their 1-on-1 before the finalize date:
Someone has finalized your 1-on-1
You will receive an email when the other person in your 1-on-1 has finalized their portion of the 1-on-1.
Someone has nudged you to complete your 1-on-1
Administrators can nudge users at any point during the 1-on-1 process (that is, either to share their responses or to finalize their 1-on-1). Similarly, any user can nudge the user they're meeting with to share or finalize their 1-on-1. Users who are nudged received the following email notification:
1-on-1 Status has been changed
If an Admin changes the status of a 1-on-1 (e.g. from Finalized to Shared or from Shared to Not Started), the user whose status was changed will receive an email notification.
Visibility into a 1-on-1 has been shared with you
If your organization has enabled the ability for employees to give another user visibility into a 1-on-1, users who are given visibility into a 1-on-1 that they didn't participate in will be notified via email when they receive visibility into the 1-on-1:
Visibility into a 1-on-1 between you and another person has been shared
When someone is granted visibility into a 1-on-1, both the employee and the facilitator in the 1-on-1 will receive an email notification informing them that the new user now has visibility.